Fantasy · Foreign · French · Romance

Jack and the Cuckoo-Clock Heart

I found Jack and the Cuckoo-Clock Heart a few years ago. I must have seen it at least eight times since then, not kidding. Something about the music, I think.

Originally in French, but the English-dubbed version is the only one I’ve found online (Netflix plus … other sources). Actually, once I found the French version on Youtube, but it was gone pretty fast and didn’t have subtitles. Regardless, Samantha Barks (of the movie version of Les Miserables, among other things) voices the main female in the dubbed version, so it’s more than enjoyable.

The movie has mixed reviews. I think some people criticize its lack of preoccupation with plot, leaving things scattered, left to the imagination, unsolved. I think it’s perfect. Not everything needs a solid plot. It’s beautiful to watch, and it has something special (henceforth to be known as “X”). Obviously the trailer doesn’t do it justice, and obviously I would suggest it.

Leave a Reply

